Award Winners Movies that Matter Festival 2013

On Wednesday March 27th, during the Award Ceremony at Theater aan het Spui in The Hague, the winners of the Movies that Matter Festival 2013 were announced. The documentary Camp 14: Total Control Zone won the Golden Butterfly Award as well as the Students’ Choice Award.

Award Winners MtMF 2013

V.l.n.r: Kimberly Bautista, Robi Damelin, Tep Vanny, Shin Dong-hyuk en Marc Wiese

A record of more than 20.000 people visited the Movies that Matter Festival this year. They chose their favorite film from over seventy feature films and documentaries concerned with human rights, peace and freedom. The VARA Audience Award went to the documentary One Day After Peace. The festival welcomed many (international) guests, among them Cuban blogger Yoani Sánchez,  Chairperson of the UN Human Rights Committee Zonke Majodina, minister for Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation Lilianne Ploumen and Princess Mabel.

Golden Butterfly: A Matter of ACT Human Rights Award (€ 5.000)
Tep Vanny (Even a Bird Needs a Nest)

Golden Butterfly: Best Documentary from A Matter of ACT competition (€ 4.000)
Camp 14: Total Control Zone (Marc Wiese)

Special Mention from A Matter of ACT competition
One Day After Peace

Silver Butterfly: Camera Justitia Award (€ 5.000)
Justice for my Sister (Kimberly Bautista)

MovieZone All Rights Award (€ 1.500)
Wadjda (Haifa Al-Mansour)     

Special Mention from the MovieZone All Rights Award
The Act of Killing (Joshua Oppenheimer)

Students’ Choice Award (€ 1.000)
Camp 14: Total Contral Zone (Marc Wiese)

VARA Audience Award (€ 2.500)
One Day After Peace (Erez Laufer and Miri Laufer)