The One Minutes Jr. Awards 2020

20E: One Minutes Jr. Awards 2020

Following the guidelines of the Dutch government regarding the global Covid-19 outbreak we decided to cancel the 2020 edition of the Movies that Matter Festival, from 20 to 28 March in The Hague.

This means that the presentation of The One Minutes Jr. Awards 2020 on March 27 at Movies that Matter cannot take place at the festival in The Hague. In consultation with The One Minutes, it was decided to continue The One Minutes Jr. Awards 2020 online and to announce the winners on March 27. 

You are invited to join us on Instagram and Facebook, where all the nominees will be featured.

The One Minutes Jr. Awards 2020
Fifteen one-minute films made by youngsters from Eritrea, Japan, Lebanon, Myanmar, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Palestine, South Korea, Syria and Turkey are nominated for The One Minutes Jr. Awards 2020. See the list of nominated films here.

How is the life of a young refugee in the Netherlands? How do Korean girls deal with the constant pressure to be elegant and feminine? What is the influence of war on daily life in Syria? Since 2002, filmmakers have been traveling around the globe as part of The One Minutes Jr. project to find answers to these questions together with children. Their creations are examples of astonishing resilience and youthful creativity.

The jury members are filmmaker Mijke de Jong (BlueBird, Frailer, Layla M.), Kaweh Modiri, filmmaker (Bodkin Ras) and writer (Meneer Sadek en de Anderen) and actor Dennis Overeem, cofounder of The Buddy Film Project helping refugee filmmakers building a network in the Dutch film industry.

The One Minutes Jr. Awards 2020 is made possible with the support of Movies That Matter. The production of works in the competition was supported by UNICEF, Korea International Cooperation Agency (KOICA), de Vrolijkheid - The National Foundation for the Promotion of Happiness, Central Agency for the Reception of Asylum Seekers (COA) and City of Amsterdam.